Getting Started: Class Actions

A good place to begin your research on class actions is in a text. Some leading texts are listed on this page for your convenience.

To find a full listing of books on your topic, search the library catalogue under the subject heading "Class Actions".

• Branch, Ward K., Class Actions in Canada, 2nd ed., loose-leaf, (Canada Law Book, 2019-). KF 8896 B72 2019 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.

• Durocher, André, Environmental Class Actions in Canada. (Thomson Reuters, 2018). KF 3775 ZA2 D87 2018 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Eizenga, Michael A., The Class Actions Handbook. (LexisNexis Canada, 2022). KF 8896 E392 2022 / / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Lexis+ in the library
   
• Eizenga, Michael A. et al., Class Actions Law and Practice, 2nd ed., loose-leaf, (LexisNexis Canada, 2008-). KF 8896 E39 2008 / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Lexis+ in the library
   
• Finn, Shaun & Olofsson, Danielle, Privacy and Data Protection Class-Actions in Canada: A Practical Handbook. (Thomson Reuters, 2020). KF 1262 F56 2020 / 1st Floor Stacks. 
   
• McCarthy Tétrault, Defending Class Actions in Canada: A Guide for Defendants. (LexisNexis Canada, 2019). KF 8896 D44 2019 / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Lexis+ in the library
   
• Morden, John W. & Perell, Paul M., The Law of Civil Procedure in Ontario, 4th ed. (LexisNexis Canada, 2020). KF 8816 .ZB3 P47 2020 / 2nd floor Practical Collection; also available on Lexis+ in the library
  • See Ch. 4.16 - Representative Plaintiffs, Defendants and Class Proceedings
     

• Winkler, Warren K. et al., The Law of Class Actions in Canada (Canada Law Book, 2014). KF 8896 W55 2014 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.

• Cashman, P. K., Class Action Law and Practice. (Annandale, N.S.W.: Federation Press, 2007). KF 8896 C37 2007 / 1st floor.
   
• Conte, Alba & Herbert B. Newberg, Newberg on Class Actions, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minn.: Thomson West, 2011-). KF 8896 N39 2011 / 1st floor; also available on Westlaw in the library.
  ​
• McLaughlin, Joseph, M., McLaughlin on Class Actions (Thomson Reuters, 2010- ) Available on Westlaw in the library.
   
• Mulheron, Rachael, The Class Action in Common Law Legal Systems: A Comparative Perspective. (Oxford-Portland, Or.: Hart Publishing, 2004). KF 8896 M85 2004 / 1st floor.

• Bullen & Leake & Jacob's Canadian Precedents of Pleadings, 3rd ed. (Carswell, 2017). KF 8868.1 B85 2017 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
  • See Vol. 1, Part IV - Class Actions.

• Lexis+ Practical Guidance - Litigation & Dispute Resolution - Specialty Litigation, Class Proceedings. Available online in the library.
   
• O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms - Ontario Court Forms, Division VIII, 11 ed., Loose-leaf. (Thomson Reuters). KF 170 O27 1987 / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Westlaw Canada in the library.
  • See Chapter 27 - Class Proceedings 

• Williston and Rolls Court Forms, 3rd ed., loose-leaf. (LexisNexis, 1986-). KF 8836 W54 2017 / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Lexis+™ Canada in the library.

  • See Chapter 85 - Class Proceedings

• Class Actions : Objectives, Experiences and Reforms : Final Report (Law Commission of Ontario, 2019)