Getting Started: Wrongful Dismissal

A good place to begin your research on wrongful dismissal is in a text. Some leading texts are listed on this page for your convenience.

To find a full listing of books on your topic, search using the "Browse" function on the library catalogue under the following subject headings:

• Employees--Dismissal of--Canada
• Employees--Dismissal of--Law and Legislation--Canada
  • e.g., Employees--Dismissal of--Law and Legislation--Ontario

• Ball, Stacey R., Canadian Employment Law, loose-leaf (Thomson Reuters, 1996-). KF 3457 B34 1996 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Barnacle, Peter J., Termination of Employment and Wrongful Dismissal in Canada, 1st ed. (LexisNexis Canada, 2020). KF 3471 B37 2020 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Harris, David, Wrongful Dismissal, loose-leaf. (Carswell, 1989-). KF 3471 H37 1989 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Knight, James G., Lisa S. Goodfellow & Carman J. Overholt, Employment Litigation Manual, 2nd ed., loose-leaf. (LexisNexis, 2007-). KF 3457 K65 2007 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Levitt, Howard A., The Law of Dismissal in Canada, 3rd ed., loose-leaf. (Canada Law Book, 2003-). KF 3471 L48 2003 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Mole, Ellen E, Wrongful Dismissal Practice Manual, 2nd ed., loose-leaf. (LexisNexis, 2005-). KF 3471 M64 2005 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
   
• Neumann, Peter, & Jeffrey Sack, eText on Wrongful Dismissal and Employment Law, 1st ed. (Lancaster House). (CanLII).
   
• Sproat, John R., Employment Law Manual, loose-leaf. (Carswell, 1990-). KF 3457 S67 1990 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.

• Bullen & Leake & Jacob's Canadian Precedents of Pleadings, 3rd ed. (Carswell, 2017). KF 8868.1 B85 2017 / 2nd floor Practice Collection.
  • See Vol. 1, Part XI - Employment and Labour Law - Wrongful Dismissal 
     
• Canadian Forms & Precedents - Employment Division, Loose-Leaf. (LexisNexis). Available on Lexis+™ Canada at the library.
   
• Lexis Practical Guidance - Employment - Terminating the Employment Relationship & Employment Litigation topics. Available online in the library through Lexis+™ .
   
• O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms - Labour Relations and Employment, Division VII, 11 ed., Loose-Leaf (Thomson Reuters).  KF 170 O27 1987 / 2nd floor Practice Collection; also available on Westlaw Canada in the library.
  • See Chapter 10 - Discharge