The library catalogue holds the full-text materials of continuing development programs (CPDs) from the Law Society of Ontario, as well as other providers. LSO CPDs from 2004 onwards are available remotely and for free. The library's collection of digitized CPD materials from other providers are only available in the Great Library physical space.
Users can browse the library's collection of CPDs on the Browse Collection tab of the home page:
The library's collection of LSO CPDs are found under LSO CPD Materials Collection.
The LSO CPD Materials Collection is organized by practice area. Scroll down to load a full list of sub-collections. Browse a sub-collection by clicking on the sub-collection.
Practice-area sub-collections are then organized by year, beginning with the most current year. Scroll down to load a full list of years. Click on the year to browse the year's CPD programs. Users may have to scroll down to load a full list of CPD programs.
Selecting a CPD program sub-collection will give users a list of the program's articles. Click on an article to read the full text. Note: the search at the top of the list only searches the catalogue information of the articles listed (not the full text of the articles).
Clicking an article will take users to the catalogue record for that article. To read the full text of the article, either click on the "Check for online availability" or scroll down directly to Availability. Then click on the Digital Version.
The library has collection of digital CPD materials from providers other than the Law Society of Ontario. These providers include the Ontario Bar Association, Canadian Bar Association, Federation of Law Societies of Canada, and Advocates' Society. This collection is found in the Professional Development Programs Collection. Users can access this collection only if they are physically in the Great Library. The Great Library also has a large number of CPD materials in print that are not in this collection.
The Professional Development Programs Collection is organized by practice area. Scroll down to load a full list of sub-collections.
Click on the practice-area sub-collection to browse the CPD programs (or conference proceedings) in that practice area. Users may have to click on "Load more" to generate a full list of CPD programs. Note: the search at the top of the list searches only the catalogue information of the CPD programs listed (not the full text of the articles within those programs).
Clicking a CPD program will take you to the catalogue record for that program. To read the full text of the articles in that program, either click on the "Check for online availability" or scroll down directly to Availability. Then click on the Digital Version. Unlike LSO CPD materials, all the articles from one program are grouped together in one PDF file.
