Family Law Research Guide

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations; ProView
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 10 releases a year
This looseleaf has a national focus and annotates the Divorce Act. The appendices include commentary on enforcement, practice, and income tax aspects; the rules and forms for all the Canadian jurisdictions; precedents; checklists; child and spousal support quantums; and words and phrases. It includes the Wilton & Semple Spousal Support Commentary.

Format: Print
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – usually 4 releases a year
This looseleaf annotates the Divorce Act. It also provides commentary on the Federal Child Support Guidelines and the Spousal Support Advisory Guidelines. The appendices has Divorce Act words and phrases and selected legal literature.

Format: Lexis+
Location: 1st Floor Stacks (print is not updated)
Type: Looseleaf – 6 releases a year
This looseleaf is national in scope, with chapters organized by province where appropriate. It has commentary on marriage and cohabitation, support, children, property, domestic contracts, pensions, income tax, mediation and practice and procedure. It has tables of concordance, the text of legislation with notes on history, digests of the relevant cases and a news tracker. It also comes with the Canadian Family Law Matters Newsletter, published 6 times a year.

Format: Print; Lexis+
Location: PRAC & 1st floor stacks
Type: Annual
This looseleaf annotates the Divorce Act, Federal Child Support Guidelines, Children's Law Reform Act, Family Law Act, Marriage Act, and Family Law Rules. It also annotates the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017; Civil Marriage Act; Annulment of Marriages Act (Ontario); Marriage (Prohibited Degrees) Act; Change of Name Act; Intercountry Adoption Act, 1998; Partition Act (selection); Pension Benefits Standards Act (selection); Pension Benefits Act (selection); Succession Law Reform Act (selection); Vital Statistics Act (selection); Evidence Act (Ontario) (selection); Courts of Justice Act (selection); An Act Respecting First Nations, Inuit, and Metis Youth and Families; Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act (selection); Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act (selection); Creditors’ Relief Act (selection); Family Responsibility and Support Arrears Enforcement Act, 1996 (selection); Fraudulent Conveyances Act (selection); Interjurisdictional Support Orders Act, 2002 (selection); and Wages Act (selection). It also provides annotations for a number of related regulations. This book also includes a year in review, a limitations table, and practice notes, which contain practice directions, commentary on expert reports, pensions, and safety planning, and templates.

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 6 releases a year
This looseleaf is a practical guide on handling a family law matter in Ontario. Chapters are organized in the order that the practitioner might require in a family law file--from representing the client, to domestic contracts and through all the stages of the litigation process. It includes checklists and precedents. The appendices include proof of facts, issues in focus, selected legal literature and terms legislatively defined.

Format: Print & Lexis+
Location: PRAC
Type: Monograph
This basic book addresses the fundamentals of family law. It has chapters on the changing definition of "family," violence in the family, court structure and family law procedure, property rights, decision-making responsibility and parenting time, support, domestic contracts, the matrimonial home, reproductive technology, motions to change and how to settle a family law case.

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations
Location: 1st floor stacks
Type: Annual
This annual text provides case analysis and commentary on children's law, support, family property and domestic contracts.

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 10 releases a year
This looseleaf has a national focus. It explores the rights and obligations of common-law or unmarried spouses when beginning or ending the relationship, including those related to property, support, domestic contracts, children, pensions, tax, and same-sex cohabitation. The appendices include cohabitation quantums, precedents, relevant legislation from all the Canadian jurisdictions, bibliography, issues in focus, selected legal literature, words and phrases and terms legislatively defined.

Format: Print; vLex Irwin Digital Library
Location: 1st floor stacks
Type: Monograph
This book is part of the Essentials of Canadian Law Series by Irwin Law. It is a succinct guide that provides a starting point for examining issues in family law. The topics are organized as in the life of a intimate relationship--from formation (marriage, cohabitation, cohabitation agreements, parentage and adoption), to the middle (child protection and spousal violence) through to the end (divorce, custody and access, family property, financial support, and separation agreements).

Format: Print; vLex Irwin Digital Library
Location: PRAC
Type: Monograph
This succinct book provides commentary on the most important legal issues in Canadian family law. It has chapters on family structures and Canadian family law, marriage, cohabitational relationships, domestic contracts, family violence, processes for dealing with marriage breakdown, divorce, support, parenting arrangements after divorce, appeals, remedies under provincial/territorial legislation, and matrimonial property rights. It is a companion volume to Child Support Guidelines in Canada, 2022 by Julien D. Payne and Marilyn A. Payne.

Format: Print
Location: PRAC
Type: Monograph
Written for the average Canadian, this slim book is a basic guide that covers the rights and obligations of parties in Canadian family law disputes, including the nature, evolution, and sources of Canadian family law; self-represented parties, marriage; cohabitational relationships; domestic contracts; family violence; family dispute resolution; divorce; parenting arrangements; support; and matrimonial property. Each chapter has a section on common questions and answers. Much of the book's commentary comes from Canadian Family Law by Julien D. Payne and Marilyn A. Payne.