LibGuides: Family Law Research Guide: Quantums

Introduction

Quantums are books or legal databases that provide information on the amount of damages that have been awarded for certain types of claims.

Databases

Canada Child Support Quantums, Lexis+: This online database has summaries of Canadian child support cases from 2000 to the present, organized according to the number of children, the payor's annual income, the amount awarded, and jurisdiction.

Canada Matrimonial Property Quantums, Lexis+: This online database has summaries of Canadian matrimonial property awards from 2000 to the present, organized by the type of nature of relationship (married spouses or common-law spouses), type of property, the type of division (equal, unequal or excluded) and jurisdiction.

Canada Spousal Support Quantums, Lexis+: This online database has summaries of Canadian spousal support awards from 2000 to the present, organized by type of award (periodic support or lump-sum support), payor's annual income, the amount awarded and jurisdiction.

Books

The following books contain quantums in family law matters.

Canadian Divorce Law and Practice by James C. MacDonald, Lee K. Ferrier
Call Number: KF 535 M32 1986

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations; ProView
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 10 releases a year
This looseleaf has a national focus and annotates the Divorce Act. The appendices include commentary on enforcement, practice, and income tax aspects; the rules and forms for all the Canadian jurisdictions; precedents; checklists; child and spousal support quantums; and words and phrases. It includes the Wilton & Semple Spousal Support Commentary.
Cohabitation: the Law in Canada by Winifred H. Holland, Barbro E. Stalbecker
Call Number: KF 538 C63 1990

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 10 releases a year
This looseleaf has a national focus. It explores the rights and obligations of common-law or unmarried spouses when beginning or ending the relationship, including those related to property, support, domestic contracts, children, pensions, tax, and same-sex cohabitation. The appendices include cohabitation quantums, precedents, relevant legislation from all the Canadian jurisdictions, bibliography, issues in focus, selected legal literature, words and phrases and terms legislatively defined.
Family Property Law and Practice in Canada (formerly Matrimonial property law in Canada), by Ann C. Wilton, Gary S. Joseph
Call Number: KF 524 M37

Format: Print; Westlaw
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 6 releases a year
This looseleaf is national in scope, with each chapter devoted to a Canadian jurisdiction. The first chapter covers recent case summaries; matrimonial property in the common law; occupational rights in the matrimonial home; homestead legislation in the four western provinces; conflict of laws and matrimonial property disputes in Canada; matrimonial property acts and conveyancing consequences; third-party rights and matrimonial property legislation; and jobs, professional degrees, licences and rights to practise. The appendices include material on valuation principles of family law and tax principles of family law, matrimonial property division quantums, proof of facts, forms and precedents (checklists), international materials, selected readings, selected legal literature, table of concordance, and words and phrases.
Ontario Family Law Act: Law and Practice, by James C. MacDonald, Ann Wilton
Call Number: KF 505 .ZB3 L38 2021

Format: Print; Westlaw Texts and Annotations; ProView
Location: PRAC
Type: Looseleaf – 10 releases a year
This looseleaf includes an annotation of the Family Law Act, as well as a discussion of cohabitation law in Ontario and valuation, income tax and enforcement. Its appendices include matrimonial quantums, precedents, checklists and related material.