Skip to Main Content 
General Self-Help
- Canadian Judicial Council Handbooks - Guidance on how to conduct oneself in court, applicable rules, law, and processes for different types of court, where to find free/lower cost legal help, and more.
- CanLII - Free legal database containing court decisions, federal & provincial legislation, legal commentary, and case summaries. See this NSRLP CanLII Primer for legal research and CanLII navigation tips.
- Cliquez-Justice - Legal information intended for French-speaking populations outside Quebec, on legal rights & obligations in such areas of law as human rights, family, and immigration.
- e-Laws - Online access to official versions of Ontario statutes and regulations.
- Guided Pathways (Steps to Justice) - This database aids in the drafting and filing of letters, legal forms, and court documents in the fields of wills & estates, landlord & tenant, and family law.
- Justice Laws - Online access to official versions of Canadian federal statutes and regulations.
- Law Depot (free with Toronto Public Library card) - Offers access to over one hundred do-it-yourself legal forms relating to wills, powers of attorney, residential lease agreements, landlord/tenant notices, marriage & family law, and more.
- Legal Line - Federal not-for-profit organization that provides easy-to-understand legal answers written in plain language. Produced by lawyers, judges, and other legal professionals, it contains over 2,100 legal answers covering 45 areas of law.
- Ministry of the Attorney General - Designed to answer questions about Ontario's legal system - contains information about divorce/separation, powers of attorney, provincial fines and more.
- My Refugee Claim - A guide for people making refugee claims in Canada, My Refugee Claim can help you learn about Canada’s refugee protection process, get and stay connected to people who can help, and be prepared for every step of the process.
- National Self-Represented Litigants Project - Designed to help members of the public understand what to expect when representing themselves in legal actions. Contains blog posts, articles, checklists, podcasts, and guides.
- Ontario Court Forms (Ontario Court Services) - Electronic court forms for Family, Civil, and Small Claims Court proceedings in Ontario.
- Public Resources (Law Society of Ontario) - In which Law Society experts speak to legal issues like choosing the right legal professional, locating a will, legal file or legal document, etc.
- Reports and Publications (Department of Justice) - Database of federal materials including corporate documents, handbooks, guides, research papers, and fact sheets. Topics of law covered include: the Canadian court system, family law, indigenous justice, sentencing, and more.
- Steps to Justice (partnership led by CLEO) - Contains step-by-step guidance on a range of legal problems. Tools include checklists and fillable forms, as well as referral information and live chat and email support.
- Superior Court of Justice (Ontario Courts): Provides information about the different courts in Ontario and links to other resources such as guides, government links and court locations.
- You and the Law (University of Toronto) - Compilation of links to freely available legal and government information on such topics as immigration, human rights, motor vehicles and driving, and more.
- Your Legal Rights (CLEO Connect) - Collection of legal information resources on topics like abuse & family violence, employment & work, and housing law, among others.
