Skip to Main Content 
General - Legal Services and Assistance
- The 519 Legal Clinic - The 519’s Access to Justice and Legal Initiatives programs support underserved 2SLGBTQ+ communities to confront barriers to accessing relevant legal services and educational resources.
- Community and Legal Aid Services Program (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University) - York students working under the supervision of lawyers to provide free legal service and representation to low income individuals and York students. Areas of law covered include administrative, criminal, and immigration law.
- Finding a Lawyer or Paralegal (Law of Society of Ontario) - Dedicated to helping the public find a lawyer or paralegal, this resource provides further links to the Lawyer and Paralegal Directory, the Law Society Referral Service, the Directory of Certified Specialists, and additional information from the LSO.
- Find a Legal Clinic (Legal Aid Ontario) - Directory of legal clinics by region, searchable by address or postal code.
- Free Legal Advice Hotline (Pro Bono Ontario) - Connects Ontarians who cannot afford a lawyer, and whose legal problems are beyond the scope of government agencies, with volunteer lawyers who can provide legal assistance. Provides up to 30 minutes of free legal advice and assistance on civil matters (excluding family law).
- JusticeNet - A not-for-profit service helping people in need of legal expertise, whose income is too high to access legal aid and too low to afford standard legal fees.
- Legal Aid Ontario Live Chat - Live chat feature where website visitors may send general inquiries to a live agent from Monday to Friday between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. (for answering questions related to legal aid services only).
- Legal Aid Ontario Specialty Clinics - These clinics deal with specific areas of law and act as resources for other clinics, private bar lawyers, MPPs, and community agencies. Specialty clinics usually do not charge, but they may ask you to pay court filing or medical record fees.”
- Legal Health Check-Up (Halton Community Legal Services) - Tool to help people living in poverty to ascertain whether the problems they are experiencing are legal issues, identify those legal problems, and get help.
- Legal Line - Federal non-profit organization that provides straightforward legal answers written in plain language. Legal Line also provides a referral service to additional support.
- National Directory of Professionals Assisting SRLs (National Self-Represented Litigants Project) - Directory containing the contact details of lawyers, paralegals, and other professionals who are willing to offer the public affordable assistance, primarily in the form of unbundled legal or limited scope services.
- Ontario Legal Information Centre - Provides bilingual legal information and referral services to residents of Ontario. This service includes a free 30-minute meeting with a lawyer.
- Student Legal Aid Services Societies - Connects the public with volunteer law students who provide legal advice and representation in select cases. Volunteers operate out of seven Ontario law schools and are supervised by licensed lawyers.
- University of Toronto Downtown Legal Services - The U of T Faculty of Law's community clinic offers free legal assistance to low-income individuals in such areas of law as criminal, family, refugee/immigration, housing, university affairs, and employment.
- Western University Community Legal Services - Operated by the Faculty of Law at Western, this community legal clinic provides free services to low-income individuals in London, Ontario, as well as Fanshawe College and Western University students.
- York University Community Clinics - Under the supervision of fully qualified lawyers, Osgoode Hall Law School students provide legal services to the public through a range of specialized clinics. These clinics offers services to investors, entrepreneurs and inventors, small businesses, venture capitalists, and those seeking mediation.
