LibGuides: On The Web: Where to Find Canadian Case Law: Ontario

Guide to Ontario Courts

Maintained by the Judges' Library, this guide provides information concerning the Court of Appeal for Ontario, the Superior Court of Justice, and the Ontario Court of Justice, including notices and practice directions, speeches, weekly case lists, Family Law Rules and forms, set fines schedules, and court rules.

Searchable access to the full text of Court of Appeal judgments, endorsements and appeal book endorsements since June 1998. New judgments and endorsements are posted daily.

Guide to Ontario Courts

The Courts of Ontario

Court of Appeal for Ontario
Continuous coverage since 1994, as well as some prior decisions to 1876. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII)
Divisional Court of the Superior Court of Justice for Ontario
Continuous coverage since 2003, as well as some prior decisions. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII)
Ontario Court of Justice
Continuous coverage since 2005, as well as some prior decisions. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII)
Superior Court of Justice of Ontario
Continuous coverage since 2003, as well as some prior decisions. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII)

Administrative Boards & Tribunals - Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario (ELTO)

Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario (ELTO)
ELTO is a cluster of adjudicative tribunals comprised of the following tribunals:
Assessment Review Board (ARB)
The ARB receives appeals on property assessments and property taxes. ARB decisions available via Lexis+™ Canada.
Board of Negotiation (BON)
The BON deals with compensation for land expropriations.
Conservation Review Board (CRB)
Reports of hearings since 2003 dealing with objections under Parts IV and VI of the Ontario Heritage Act.
Environmental Review Tribunal (ERT)
Orders and decisions since 2017. Also functions as the Office of Consolidated Hearings to hear applications made under the Consolidated Hearings Act and as the Niagara Escarpment Hearing Office to hear development permit appeals and Niagara Escarpment Plan amendment applications under the Niagara Escarpment Planning and Development Act.
Local Planning Appeal Tribunal (LPAT)
LPAT hears cases in relation to a range of municipal planning, financial and land matters. These include matters such as official plans, zoning by-laws, subdivision plans, consents and minor variances, land compensations, development charges, electoral ward boundaries, municipal finances, aggregate resources and other issues assigned by numerous Ontario statutes. Previously known as the Ontario Municipal Board (OMB).
Mining and Lands Tribunal (MLT)
The MLT was previously known as the Office of the Mining and Lands Commissioner, under the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF). On April 3, 2018, it was renamed the MLT, and joined Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario (ELTO) as its sixth tribunal.

Administrative Boards & Tribunals - Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario (SLASTO)

Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario (SLASTO)
SLASTO is a cluster of adjudicative tribunals comprised of the following:
Animal Care Review Board
The ACRB hears appeals from individuals whose animals have been seized or who have been issued orders by the Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (OSPCA) under the Ontario Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act.
Fire Safety Commission
The Fire Safety Commission hears appeals and applications on fire safety matters under the authority of the Fire Protection and Prevention Act, 1997, or the Fire Code, an Ontario regulation made under that Act.
Licence Appeal Tribunal
The Licence Appeal Tribunal (LAT) is an adjudicative tribunal, established under the Licence Appeal Tribunal Act, 1999, with a mandate to resolve appeals regarding compensation claims and licensing decisions made by a wide variety of regulators and pursuant to appeal rights set out under a number of statutes. Includes two main divisions: General Service (GS) and Automobile Accident Benefits Service (AABS).
Ontario Civilian Commission on Police Services (OCPC)
The OCPC is tasked with ensuring that adequate and effective policing services are provided in a fair and accountable manner under the Ontario Police Services Act.
Ontario Parole Board (OPB)
The OPB decides on the conditional release of inmates in provincial institutions and has the sole authority in Ontario to grant parole, deny parole, cancel parole before release, and revoke parole.

Administrative Boards & Tribunals - Social Justice Tribunals Ontario (SJTO)

Social Justice Tribunals Ontario (SJTO)
The SJTO is a cluster of adjudicative tribunals comprised of the following tribunals. Common Rules of Procedure apply to all tribunals in the SJTO.
Child and Family Services Review Board (CFSRB)
The CFSRB conducts reviews and hearings on a number of matters that affect children, youth and families in Ontario. The CFSRB operates under the jurisdiction of the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, Education Act and Intercountry Adoption Act.
Custody Review Board (CRB)
Young persons charged with an offence that occurred when under 18 may be able to apply to the CRB for a review of placement, a review of transfer from a place of open custody to a place of secure custody, a review of the decision by the Provincial Director to deny a request for a temporary release or reintegration leave from a custody facility.
Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario (HRTO)
The HRTO resolves claims of discrimination and harassment brought under the Human Rights Code.
Landlord and Tenant Board (LTB)
The LTB resolves disputes between residential landlords and tenants and eviction applications filed by non-profit housing co-operatives. It also provides information about its practices and procedures and the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants under the Residential Tenancies Act.
Ontario Special Education Tribunals (OSETs)
The two OSETs hear appeals by parents and guardians who are not satisfied with the school board’s identification or placement of a child with exceptional learning needs. The OSET- English hears appeals from decisions made by English Public and Catholic School Boards. The OSET - French hears appeals from decisions made by French Public and Catholic School Boards. The OSETs hear appeals only after parents have completed all possible appeals at the school board level under the Education Act.
Social Benefits Tribunal (SBT)
The SBT hears appeals from people who have either been refused social assistance or who receive social assistance but disagree with a decision that affects their eligibility for assistance, the amount of assistance they receive, or the benefits they receive. The tribunal is established under Part IV of the Ontario Works Act, 1997. Appeals are heard under that act and the Ontario Disability Support Program Act, 1997.

Administrative Boards & Tribunals - Other

Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO)
Continuous coverage from 2007 to 2012-03-08. (CanLII). As of July 1, 2011, the Licence Appeal Tribunal (LAT) began hearing liquor and gaming related matters previously heard by the AGCO.
Building Code Commission (BCC)
The BCC is an adjudicative tribunal, authorized under the Building Code Act.
Chartered Professional Accountants - Ontario
Professional misconduct discipline decisions, orders, settlements and reasons.
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO)
Recent Discipline Committee decision summaries. Doctor Search provides information about doctors, including information about any current allegations or past findings of professional misconduct, incompetence or incapacity, linked to brief summaries of the Discipline Committee's findings and the penalties ordered, which are in turn linked to full decisions. Archived copies of the College's official publication Dialogue Magazine also includes decision summaries.
Consent and Capacity Board (CCB)
Continuous coverage since 2004, as well as some prior decisions. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII). The board is an independent body created by the provincial government of Ontario under the Health Care Consent Act. It conducts hearings under the Mental Health Act, the Health Care Consent Act, the Personal Health Information Protection Act, the Substitute Decisions Act and the Mandatory Blood Testing Act.
Employment Standards Appeal (ESA) Decisions
Decisions from 1971 to 2002. The decisions are categorized as Employer Appeals, Employee Appeals, and Becker Decisions. (OWT Library)
Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO)
Insurance arbitration and appeal decisions involving statutory accident benefits claims since 1991. To access the arbitration and appeal decisions, use the user name "decisions" and the password "subscription." Also provided are pension decisions of the Financial Services from 1999 to present and of the former Pension Commission from 1998 to 2002.
Financial Services Tribunal (FST)
Continuous coverage since 1999-01-28. (CanLII)
Grievance Settlement Board (GSB)
Continuous coverage since 2000, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII). Available via the official website are Rules of Procedure.
Health Professions Appeal and Review Board (HPARB)
Continuous coverage since 2008, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII). Available via the official website are Rules of Procedure.
Health Services Appeal and Review Board (HSARB)
Continuous coverage since 2010, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII). Available via the official website are Rules of Procedure.
Horse Racing Appeal Panel (ONHRAP)
Continuous coverage since 2017. Some prior decisions.
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario (IPC)
The IPC provides access to significant orders or privacy complaint reports since 1988. The reports can be browsed by subject or legislation (the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, or the Personal Health Information and Protection of Privacy Act).
Law Society of Ontario (LSO)
Continuous coverage since 2006, as well as some prior decisions. Includes decisions of the current Law Society Tribunal and those formerly posted by CanLII in 3 separate databases: Discipline Committee / Convocation, Hearing Panel and Appeal Panel. (CanLII)
Niagara Escarpment Commission
Development permits application, decision, and appeals search.
Office of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner
Decision summaries.
Ombudsman of Ontario
SORT (Special Ombudsman Response Team) published reports since 2005, selected cases dealing with the provincial government and its agencies, and municipal meeting cases.
Ontario College of Pharmacists
Continuous coverage since 2010, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII)
Ontario College of Teachers
Summaries of decisions of its Discipline Committee since 1998. Brief summaries of upcoming hearings are also available.
Ontario Energy Board
Most significant decisions and reports since 1980.
Ontario Human Rights Commission
Summaries of significant settlements, decisions and court cases in which the Commission was involved are found in its Annual Reports since 1999/2000.
Ontario Judicial Council
Guide to Ontario Courts, a site maintained by the Judges' Library, provides public hearings decisions of the Ontario Judicial Council since 2002. Case summaries since 1995/1995 are available in the Council's annual reports.
Ontario Labour Arbitration Awards
Selected decisions since 1993, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII)
Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB)
Continuous coverage since 2000, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII)
Ontario Police Arbitration Commission (OPAC)
Arbitration decisions, including collective agreements, interest disputes and rights disputes.
Ontario Racing Commission
Continuous coverage from 2001-2017, as well as some prior decisions. As of April 1, 2016, the Horse Racing Appeal Panel (ONHRAP) and the Ontario Licence Appeal Tribunal (ONLAT) began hearing some appeals previously heard by the Ontario Racing Commission (ONRC). (CanLII)
Ontario Securities Commission
Orders, rulings and decisions relating to discretionary relief, cease trade orders, take-over bids, enforcement proceedings and other matters since 2000. Also available are Rules of Procedure.
Pay Equity Hearings Tribunal
Continuous coverage since 2007, as well as some prior decisions. Practice rules are also provided. (CanLII)
Public Service Grievance Board (PSGB)
Coverage since 1983, as well as some prior decisions (CanLII)
Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT)
Coverage since 1985. Also available are the full text and headnotes of selected decisions included in recent volumes of the WSIAT Reporter, as well as the summaries of recent noteworthy decisions.
Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB)
Coverage since 2009, as well as some prior decisions. (CanLII)

Law Reports & Digests

Maintained by Osgoode Hall Law School of York University, this guide gathers and organizes old editions of case reports made available through the Internet Archive.

Law Reports & Digests (Osgoode Digital Commons)