Advanced Search retrieves items by words or phrases anywhere in the record, or only in specific fields, such as title, author, subject, call number, series, table of contents, or publisher. It allows you to create simple or complex search strategies, and provides all the standard Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) and drop-down menus of options to help you formulate your search. Search limits are available for all Guided Keyword searches.
By default, Advanced Search gives you two places to enter your search terms. You can split up your keywords in a way that performs the same as when using AND, OR, and NOT. Instead of typing those operators, you pick the one you need from the dropdown menu.
Advanced Search Examples
| To retrieve: | Enter the search terms: |
| items on eviction and conversions or renovations in Ontario | eviction [contains words] Any field AND conversion? renovation? [contains words] Any field AND ontario [contains words] Any field |
| items by and about John Sopinka | Sopinka [contains words] Author/creator AND sopinka [contains words] Subject |
| items with the phrase industrial design or industrial designs in the title | industrial design? [contains phrase] Title |
| items on e-commerce and internet liability | e commerce [contains phrase] Any field AND internet liability [contains words] Any field |
| items on electronic commerce by Sookman | electronic commerce [contains phrase] Any field AND sookman [contains words] Author/creator AND sookman [contains words] Any field |
| items on merger published in 2020-2021 |
merger? [contains words] Any field Set publication date Last 2 years |
| books on bankruptcy in Ontario | set search limits Item Type: Books bankruptcy ontario [contains words] Subject |
| search for the full call number KF 2994 H85 2005 | KF2994H852005 |
|
search for the partial call number KF 2994 H85 |
KF2994H85* |